Stow Your Dotfiles

SSH config files managed by Git and GNU Stow

I correctly set up the system configuration file manager GNU Stow and the version control system (VCS) Git on my Fujitsu Lifebook so that the former can automatically install system configuration files like modules, whereas the later can track the code in those files.

What I mean for correctly is that in the ssh folder of the remote dotfiles repo, there is neither SSH key files nor entries representing SSH keys in the gitignore file. You may view Jan Uhlik’s dotfiles on GitLab as an example.

However, when I set up dotfiles on my newly upgraded Linux Mint 19, Git kept reminding me to track my SSH keys. Since I’ve never encountered such situation before, I considered my setup suboptimal: even though I could ignore this message, I found my SSH keys appearing in the list of untracked files a bit annoying. They drew my attention away from the truely untracked files.

Having recalled myself the installation process of my dotfiles modules, I reinstalled my SSH files after the creation of the folder ~/.ssh so that this path represents a folder instead of a symbolic link.


No comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *.