Juno Installation 2019

Log of system-wide config

Goal

To install Juno for convenient development in Julia.

Problem

After Juno installation, I received the following error.

Juno error

Analysis

From the error message, the system had tried to find an executable file julia, which would then be executed by the shell /bin/sh. Nonetheless, it’s absent from the system’s environment $PATH, so Juno couldn’t find it.

I’ve only changed my $PATH in ZSHRC, which is user-specific.

Solution

This Stack Overflow question about $PATH setting on *nix has provided various solution. As I was in a hurry to get Julia run on Juno, I’ve taken the advice from the best answer. I prefer creating a separate shortcut under /usr/bin, rather than editing system-wide config files.

$ cd /usr/bin
$ sudo ln -s $(which julia) julia

Upgraded Julia

I was surprised to learn that my old laptop was running version 1.0.1. To cleanly upgrade Julia to the currect stable version (v 1.1.0), I removed the old one and replaced it with the downloaded tarball.

Julia in Juno

Juno  Atom  Julia 

No comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *.