My First Post

Introduction

Hello World! This is my new GitLab page powered by Hugo. I’m setting up this blog to practise my math, foreign languages and IT skills.

Why Hugo?

My original goal is to set up a personal blog for posting math.

I used to work with Octopress, but resolving the dependencies and other technical issues had actually took much more time and effort than expected. As a result, I digressed a lot from my studies to look into those problems.

I tried using WordPress.com, but typing $latex $ at the beginning of each math expression is so tedious that it breaks the workflow: careful proofread is needed to spot out typos. In addition, the lack of support for display style equation complicates the code. Finding a reliable free host for the full version WordPress is, in my opinion, a mission impossible.

Contrary to Octopress, Hugo is self-contained. I can write math offline from a text editor and post it afterward.


2 comments

narip's gravatar

narip

I also want to make a personal blog which is good for math typing, and Hexo seems have some math typing issues, I wonder does Hugo have similar problem like sometimes the math won’t showing out but showing latex code?

Another question is, where is the search logo? I think if I want to build a personal blog, the greatest thing I can think of is I can search quickly to find out where the content is which is uncomparable with paper notes.

Thanks!

Vincent Tam's gravatar

Vincent Tam narip

It depends on your static web generator’s parsing of source code into HTML. I suggest that you take a look at

  1. the source code of any math post on my website
  2. the source code of my tweaked Beautiful Hugo theme

cuz I was addicted to PC games and I had stopped for months, so I dun rmb what I had done to get $\LaTeX$ equations like

$$ 1 \times 2 = \sum_{i=0}^\infty \frac{1}{2^i}.$$

I’m too lazy to put a search logo, which isn’t present in the original theme. Instead of thinking about the CSS layouts more both PC & mobile devices, I would rather spend some time to take math notes and share them.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *.